Articles avec le tag :
Fermer
Changelog
Fermer
Articles avec le tag :
Fermer

Insérer et modifier des graphiques

Insérer un graphique

Pour insérer un graphique dans votre présentation,

  1. placez le curseur là où vous souhaitez ajouter un graphique,
  2. passez à l'onglet Insertion de la barre d'outils supérieure,
  3. cliquez sur l'icône Insérer un graphique Insérer un graphique de la barre d'outils supérieure,
  4. sélectionnez le type de graphique nécessaire parmi ceux qui sont disponibles : Colonne, Ligne, Secteur, Barre, Aire, XY(Nuage), Boursier,

    Remarque : les graphiques Colonne, Ligne, Secteur, ou Barre sont aussi disponibles au format 3D.

  5. après une fenêtre Éditeur de graphique s'ouvre où vous pouvez entrer les données nécessaires dans les cellules en utilisant les commandes suivantes :
    • Copier et Coller pour copier et coller les données copiées
    • Annuler et Rétablir pour annuler et rétablir les actions
    • Insérer une fonction pour insérer une fonction
    • Réduire les décimales et Ajouter une décimale pour diminuer et augmenter les décimales
    • Format de numéro pour changer le format de nombre, c'est à dire la façon d'afficher les chiffres dans les cellules

    Éditeur de graphique

  6. modifiez les paramètres du graphique en cliquant sur le bouton Modifier graphique situé dans la fenêtre Éditeur de graphique. La fenêtre Paramètres du graphique s'ouvre.

    fenêtre Paramètres du graphique

    L'onglet Type et données vous permet de sélectionner le type de graphique ainsi que les données que vous souhaitez utiliser pour créer un graphique.

    • Sélectionnez le Type de graphique que vous souhaitez insérer : Colonne, Ligne, Secteur, Barre, Aire, XY(Nuage), Boursier.
    • Vérifiez la Plage de données sélectionnée et modifiez-la, si nécessaire, en cliquant sur le bouton Sélectionner les données et en entrant la plage de données souhaitée dans le format suivant : Sheet1!A1:B4.
    • Choisissez la disposition des données. Vous pouvez sélectionner la Série de données à utiliser sur l'axe X : en lignes ou en colonnes.

    fenêtre Paramètres du graphique

    L'onglet Disposition vous permet de modifier la disposition des éléments de graphique.

    • Spécifiez la position du Titre du graphique sur votre graphique en sélectionnant l'option voulue dans la liste déroulante :
      • Aucun pour ne pas afficher le titre du graphique,
      • Superposition pour superposer et centrer le titre sur la zone de tracé,
      • Pas de superposition pour afficher le titre au-dessus de la zone de tracé.
    • Spécifiez la position de la Légende sur votre graphique en sélectionnant l'option voulue dans la liste déroulante :
      • Aucun pour ne pas afficher de légende,
      • Bas pour afficher la légende et l'aligner au bas de la zone de tracé,
      • Haut pour afficher la légende et l'aligner en haut de la zone de tracé,
      • Droite pour afficher la légende et l'aligner à droite de la zone de tracé,
      • Gauche pour afficher la légende et l'aligner à gauche de la zone de tracé,
      • Superposer à gauche pour superposer et centrer la légende à gauche de la zone de tracé,
      • Superposer à droite pour superposer et centrer la légende à droite de la zone de tracé.
    • Spécifiez les paramètres des Étiquettes de données (c'est-à-dire les étiquettes de texte représentant les valeurs exactes des points de données) :
      • spécifiez la position des Étiquettes de données par rapport aux points de données en sélectionnant l'option nécessaire dans la liste déroulante. Les options disponibles varient en fonction du type de graphique sélectionné.
        • Pour les graphiques en Colonnes/Barres, vous pouvez choisir les options suivantes : Aucune, Centre, Intérieur bas,Intérieur haut, Extérieur haut.
        • Pour les graphiques en Ligne/XY(Nuage)/Boursier, vous pouvez choisir les options suivantes : Aucune, Centre, Gauche, Droite, Haut, Bas.
        • Pour les graphiques Secteur, vous pouvez choisir les options suivantes : Aucune, Centre, Ajusté à la largeur,Intérieur haut, Extérieur haut.
        • Pour les graphiques en Aire ainsi que pour les graphiques 3D en Colonnes, en Lignes et en Barres, vous pouvez choisir les options suivantes : Aucun, Centre.
      • sélectionnez les données que vous souhaitez inclure dans vos étiquettes en cochant les cases correspondantes: Nom de la série, Nom de la catégorie, Valeur,
      • Entrez un caractère (virgule, point-virgule, etc.) que vous souhaitez utiliser pour séparer plusieurs étiquettes dans le champ de saisie Séparateur d'étiquettes de données.
    • Lignes - permet de choisir un style de ligne pour les graphiques en Ligne/XY(Nuage). Vous pouvez choisir parmi les options suivantes : Droite pour utiliser des lignes droites entre les points de données, Courbe pour utiliser des courbes lisses entre les points de données, ou Aucune pour ne pas afficher les lignes.
    • Marqueurs - est utilisé pour spécifier si les marqueurs doivent être affichés (si la case est cochée) ou non (si la case n'est pas cochée) pour les graphiques Ligne/XY(Nuage).

      Remarque: les options Lignes et Marqueurs sont disponibles uniquement pour les graphiques en Ligne et XY(Nuage).

    • La section Paramètres de l'axe permet de spécifier si vous souhaitez afficher l'Axe horizontal/vertical ou non en sélectionnant l'option Afficher ou Masquer dans la liste déroulante. Vous pouvez également spécifier les paramètres de Titre d'axe horizontal/vertical :
      • Indiquez si vous souhaitez afficher le Titre de l'axe horizontal ou non en sélectionnant l'option voulue dans la liste déroulante :
        • Aucun pour ne pas afficher le titre de l'axe horizontal,
        • Pas de superposition pour afficher le titre en-dessous de l'axe horizontal.
      • Indiquez si vous souhaitez afficher le Titre de l'axe vertical ou non en sélectionnant l'option voulue dans la liste déroulante :
        • Aucun pour ne pas afficher le titre de l'axe vertical,
        • Tourné pour afficher le titre de bas en haut à gauche de l'axe vertical,
        • Horizontal pour afficher le titre horizontalement à gauche de l'axe vertical.
    • La section Quadrillage permet de spécifier les lignes du Quadrillage horizontal/vertical que vous souhaitez afficher en sélectionnant l'option voulue dans la liste déroulante : Majeures, Mineures ou Majeures et mineures. Vous pouvez masquer le quadrillage à l'aide de l'option Aucun.

      Remarque : les sections Paramètres des axes et Quadrillage seront désactivées pour les Graphiques à secteurs, car les graphiques de ce type n'ont ni axes ni lignes de quadrillage.

    fenêtre Paramètres du graphique

    Remarque : les onglets Axe Horizontal/vertical seront désactivés pour les Graphiques à secteurs, car les graphiques de ce type n'ont pas d'axes.

    L'onglet Axe vertical vous permet de modifier les paramètres de l'axe vertical, également appelés axe des valeurs ou axe y, qui affiche des valeurs numériques. Notez que l'axe vertical sera l'axe des catégories qui affiche des étiquettes de texte pour les Graphiques à barres. Dans ce cas, les options de l'onglet Axe vertical correspondront à celles décrites dans la section suivante. Pour les Graphiques XY(Nuage), les deux axes sont des axes de valeur.

    • La section Options des axes permet de modifier les paramètres suivants :
      • Valeur minimale - sert à spécifier la valeur la plus basse affichée au début de l'axe vertical. L'option Auto est sélectionnée par défaut, dans ce cas la valeur minimale est calculée automatiquement en fonction de la plage de données sélectionnée. Vous pouvez sélectionner l'option Fixe dans la liste déroulante et spécifier une valeur différente dans le champ de saisie sur la droite.
      • Valeur maximale - sert à spécifier la valeur la plus élevée affichée à la fin de l'axe vertical. L'option Auto est sélectionnée par défaut, dans ce cas la valeur maximale est calculée automatiquement en fonction de la plage de données sélectionnée. Vous pouvez sélectionner l'option Fixe dans la liste déroulante et spécifier une valeur différente dans le champ de saisie sur la droite.
      • Axes croisés - est utilisé pour spécifier un point sur l'axe vertical où l'axe horizontal doit le traverser. L'option Auto est sélectionnée par défaut, dans ce cas la valeur du point d'intersection est calculée automatiquement en fonction de la plage de données sélectionnée. Vous pouvez sélectionner l'option Valeur dans la liste déroulante et spécifier une valeur différente dans le champ de saisie à droite, ou définir le point d'intersection des axes à la Valeur minimum/maximum sur l'axe vertical.
      • Unités d'affichage - est utilisé pour déterminer la représentation des valeurs numériques le long de l'axe vertical. Cette option peut être utile si vous travaillez avec de grands nombres et souhaitez que les valeurs sur l'axe soient affichées de manière plus compacte et plus lisible (par exemple, vous pouvez représenter 50 000 comme 50 en utilisant les unités d'affichage de Milliers). Sélectionnez les unités souhaitées dans la liste déroulante : Centaines, Milliers, 10 000, 100 000, Millions, 10 000 000, 100 000 000, Milliards, Billions, ou choisissez l'option Aucun pour retourner aux unités par défaut.
      • Valeurs dans l'ordre inverse - est utilisé pour afficher les valeurs dans la direction opposée. Lorsque la case n'est pas cochée, la valeur la plus basse est en bas et la valeur la plus haute est en haut de l'axe. Lorsque la case est cochée, les valeurs sont triées de haut en bas.
    • La section Options de graduations permet d'ajuster l'apparence des graduations sur l'échelle verticale. Les graduations majeures sont les divisions à plus grande échelle qui peuvent avoir des étiquettes affichant des valeurs numériques. Les graduations mineures sont les subdivisions d'échelle qui sont placées entre les graduations majeures et n'ont pas d'étiquettes. Les graduations définissent également l'endroit où le quadrillage peut être affiché, si l'option correspondante est définie dans l'onglet Disposition. Les listes déroulantes Type de majeure/mineure contiennent les options de placement suivantes :
      • Aucune pour ne pas afficher les graduations majeures/mineures,
      • Croix pour afficher les graduations majeures/mineures des deux côtés de l'axe,
      • Intérieur pour afficher les graduations majeures/mineures dans l'axe,
      • Extérieur pour afficher les graduations majeures/mineures à l'extérieur de l'axe.
    • La section Options de libellé permet d'ajuster l'apparence des libellés de graduations majeures qui affichent des valeurs. Pour spécifier la Position du libellé par rapport à l'axe vertical, sélectionnez l'option voulue dans la liste déroulante :
      • Aucun pour ne pas afficher les libellés de graduations,
      • Bas pour afficher les libellés de graduations à gauche de la zone de tracé,
      • Haut pour afficher les libellés de graduations à droite de la zone de tracé,
      • À côté de l'axe pour afficher les libellés de graduations à côté de l'axe.

    fenêtre Paramètres du graphique

    L'onglet Axe horizontal vous permet de modifier les paramètres de l'axe horizontal, également appelés axe des catégories ou axe x, qui affiche des libellés textuels. Notez que l'axe horizontal sera l'axe des valeurs qui affiche des valeurs numériques pour les Graphiques à barres. Dans ce cas, les options de l'onglet Axe horizontal correspondent à celles décrites dans la section précédente. Pour les Graphiques XY(Nuage), les deux axes sont des axes de valeur.

    • La section Options des axes permet de modifier les paramètres suivants :
      • Axes croisés - est utilisé pour spécifier un point sur l'axe horizontal où l'axe vertical doit le traverser. L'option Auto est sélectionnée par défaut, dans ce cas la valeur du point d'intersection est calculée automatiquement en fonction de la plage de données sélectionnée. Vous pouvez sélectionner l'option Valeur dans la liste déroulante et spécifier une valeur différente dans le champ de saisie à droite, ou définir le point d'intersection des axes à la Valeur minimum/maximum(qui correspond à la première/dernière catégorie) sur l'axe horizontal.
      • Position de l'axe - permet de spécifier où les étiquettes de texte de l'axe doivent être placées : Sur les graduations ou Entre les graduations.
      • Valeurs dans l'ordre inverse - est utilisé pour afficher les catégories dans la direction opposée. Lorsque la case n'est pas cochée, les catégories sont affichées de gauche à droite. Lorsque la case est cochée, les catégories sont triées de droite à gauche.
    • La section Options de graduations permet d'ajuster l'apparence des graduations sur l'échelle horizontale. Les graduations majeures sont les divisions à plus grande échelle qui peuvent avoir des étiquettes affichant les catégories. Les graduations mineures sont les divisions plus petites qui sont placées entre les graduations majeures et n'ont pas d'étiquettes. Les graduations définissent également l'endroit où le quadrillage peut être affiché, si l'option correspondante est définie dans l'onglet Disposition. Vous pouvez ajuster les paramètres de graduation suivants :
      • Type de majeure/mineure est utilisé pour spécifier les options de placement suivantes : Aucune pour ne pas afficher les graduations majeures/mineures, Croix pour afficher les graduations majeures/mineures des deux côtés de l'axe, Intérieur pour afficher les graduations majeures/mineures dans l'axe, Extérieur pour afficher les graduations majeures/mineures à l'extérieur de l'axe.
      • Intervalle entre les graduations - est utilisé pour spécifier le nombre de catégories à afficher entre deux marques de graduation adjacentes.
    • La section Options de libellé permet d'ajuster l'apparence des libellés qui affichent les catégories.
      • Position du libellé - est utilisé pour spécifier où les libellés doivent être placés par rapport à l'axe horizontal. Sélectionnez l'option souhaitée dans la liste déroulante : Aucun pour ne pas afficher les libellés de graduations, Bas pour afficher les libellés de graduations au bas de la zone de tracé, Haut pour afficher les libellés de graduations en haut de la zone de tracé, À côté de l'axe pour afficher les libellés de graduations à côté de l'axe.
      • Distance du libellé - est utilisé pour spécifier la distance entre les libellés et l'axe. Spécifiez la valeur voulue dans le champ d'entrée. Plus la valeur que vous définissez est élevée, plus la distance entre l'axe et les libellés est grande.
      • Intervalle entre les libellés - est utilisé pour spécifier la fréquence à laquelle les libellés doivent être affichés. L'option Auto est sélectionnée par défaut, dans ce cas les libellés sont affichés pour chaque catégorie. Vous pouvez sélectionner l'option Manuel dans la liste déroulante et spécifier la valeur voulue dans le champ de saisie sur la droite. Par exemple, entrez 2 pour afficher les libellés pour une catégorie sur deux.

    fenêtre Paramètres du graphique

    L'onglet Texte de remplacement permet de spécifier un Titre et une Description qui sera lue aux personnes avec des déficiences cognitives ou visuelles pour les aider à mieux comprendre l'information du graphique.

  7. une fois le graphique ajouté vous pouvez modifier sa taille et sa position.

    Vous pouvez spécifier la position du graphique sur la diapositive en le faisant glisser verticalement ou horizontalement.


Modifier les éléments de graphique

Pour modifier le Titre du graphique, sélectionnez le texte par défaut à l'aide de la souris et saisissez le vôtre à la place.

Pour modifier la mise en forme de la police dans les éléments de texte, tels que le titre du graphique, les titres des axes, les entrées de légende, les étiquettes de données, etc., sélectionnez l'élément de texte nécessaire en cliquant dessus. Utilisez ensuite les icônes de l'onglet Accueil de la barre d'outils supérieure pour modifier le type de police, le style, la taille ou la couleur.

Pour supprimer un élément de graphique, sélectionnez-le avec la souris et appuyez sur la touche Suppr.

Vous pouvez également faire pivoter les graphiques 3D à l'aide de la souris. Faites un clic gauche dans la zone de tracé et maintenez le bouton de la souris enfoncé jusqu'à ce qu'une boîte pointillée bleue apparaisse. Faites glisser le curseur sans relâcher le bouton de la souris pour modifier l'orientation du graphique 3D.

Graphique 3D


Ajuster les paramètres du graphique

Onglet Graphique

La taille du graphique, le type et le style ainsi que les données utilisées pour créer le graphique peuvent être modifiés en utilisant la barre latérale droite. Pour l'activer, cliquez sur le graphique et sélectionnez l'icône Paramètres du graphique Paramètres du graphique à droite.

La section Taille vous permet de modifier la largeur et/ou la hauteur du graphique. Si le bouton Proportions constantes Icône Proportions constantes est activé (auquel cas il ressemble à ceci Icône Proportions constantes activée), la largeur et la hauteur seront changées en même temps, le ratio d'aspect du graphique original sera préservé.

La section Modifier le type de graphique vous permet de modifier le type et/ou le style de graphique sélectionné à l'aide du menu déroulant correspondant.

Pour sélectionner le Style de graphique nécessaire, utilisez le deuxième menu déroulant de la section Modifier le type de graphique.

Le bouton Modifier les données vous permet d'ouvrir la fenêtre de l'Éditeur de graphiques et de commencer à éditer les données comme décrit ci-dessus.

Remarque : pour ouvrir rapidement la fenêtre "Éditeur de graphiques", vous pouvez également double-cliquer sur le graphique dans la diapositive.

Lorsque le graphique est sélectionné, l'icône Paramètres de forme Paramètres de la forme est également disponible sur la droite, car une forme est utilisée comme arrière-plan pour le graphique. Vous pouvez cliquer sur cette icône pour ouvrir l'onglet Paramètres de forme dans la barre latérale droite et ajuster le Remplissage et le Contour de la forme. Notez que vous ne pouvez pas modifier le type de forme.


Pour supprimer un graphique inséré, sélectionnez-le avec la souris et appuyez sur la touche Suppr.

Pour apprendre à aligner un graphique sur la diapositive ou à organiser plusieurs objets, reportez-vous à la section Aligner et organiser les objets dans une diapositive.

Revenir à la page précédente
Try now for free Try and make your decision No need to install anything
to see all the features in action

Articles with the tag:
Close
Changelog
Close
Articles with the tag:
Close

Insert and edit charts

Insert a chart

To insert a chart into your presentation,

  1. put the cursor at the place where you want to add a chart,
  2. click the Insert Chart Insert Chart icon icon at the top toolbar,
  3. select the needed chart type from the available ones - Column, Line, Pie, Bar, Area, XY (Scatter), Stock,

    Note: for Column, Line, Pie, or Bar charts, a 3D format is also available.

  4. after that the Chart Editor window will appear where you can enter the necessary data into the cells using the following controls:
    • Copy and Paste for copying and pasting the copied data
    • Undo and Redo for undoing and redoing actions
    • Insert function for inserting a function
    • Decrease decimal and Increase decimal for decreasing and increasing decimal places
    • Number format for changing the number format, i.e. the way the numbers you enter appear in cells

    Chart Editor window

  5. change the chart settings clicking the Edit Chart button situated in the Chart Editor window. The Chart - Advanced Settings window will open.

    Chart Settings window

    The Type & Data tab allows you to select the chart type as well as the data you wish to use to create a chart.

    • Select a chart Type you wish to insert: Column, Line, Pie, Bar, Area, XY (Scatter), Stock.
    • Check the selected Data Range and modify it, if necessary, clicking the Select Data button and entering the desired data range in the following format: Sheet1!A1:B4.
    • Choose the way to arrange the data. You can either select the Data series to be used on the X axis: in rows or in columns.

    Chart Settings window

    The Layout tab allows you to change the layout of chart elements.

    • Specify the Chart Title position in regard to your chart selecting the necessary option from the drop-down list:
      • None to not display a chart title,
      • Overlay to overlay and center a title on the plot area,
      • No Overlay to display the title above the plot area.
    • Specify the Legend position in regard to your chart selecting the necessary option from the drop-down list:
      • None to not display a legend,
      • Bottom to display the legend and align it to the bottom of the plot area,
      • Top to display the legend and align it to the top of the plot area,
      • Right to display the legend and align it to the right of the plot area,
      • Left to display the legend and align it to the left of the plot area,
      • Left Overlay to overlay and center the legend to the left on the plot area,
      • Right Overlay to overlay and center the legend to the right on the plot area.
    • Specify the Data Labels (i.e. text labels that represent exact values of data points) parameters:
      • specify the Data Labels position relative to the data points selecting the necessary option from the drop-down list. The available options vary depending on the selected chart type.
        • For Column/Bar charts, you can choose the following options: None, Center, Inner Bottom, Inner Top, Outer Top.
        • For Line/XY (Scatter)/Stock charts, you can choose the following options: None, Center, Left, Right, Top, Bottom.
        • For Pie charts, you can choose the following options: None, Center, Fit to Width, Inner Top, Outer Top.
        • For Area charts as well as for 3D Column, Line and Bar charts, you can choose the following options: None, Center.
      • select the data you wish to include into your labels checking the corresponding boxes: Series Name, Category Name, Value,
      • enter a character (comma, semicolon etc.) you wish to use for separating several labels into the Data Labels Separator entry field.
    • Lines - is used to choose a line style for Line/XY (Scatter) charts. You can choose one of the following options: Straight to use straight lines between data points, Smooth to use smooth curves between data points, or None to not display lines.
    • Markers - is used to specify whether the markers should be displayed (if the box is checked) or not (if the box is unchecked) for Line/XY (Scatter) charts.

      Note: the Lines and Markers options are available for Line charts and XY (Scatter) charts only.

    • The Axis Settings section allows to specify if you wish to display Horizontal/Vertical Axis or not selecting the Show or Hide option from the drop-down list. You can also specify Horizontal/Vertical Axis Title parameters:
      • Specify if you wish to display the Horizontal Axis Title or not selecting the necessary option from the drop-down list:
        • None to not display a horizontal axis title,
        • No Overlay to display the title below the horizontal axis.
      • Specify the Vertical Axis Title orientation selecting the necessary option from the drop-down list:
        • None to not display a vertical axis title,
        • Rotated to display the title from bottom to top to the left of the vertical axis,
        • Horizontal to display the title horizontally to the left of the vertical axis.
    • The Gridlines section allows to specify which of the Horizontal/Vertical Gridlines you wish to display selecting the necessary option from the drop-down list: Major, Minor, or Major and Minor. You can hide the gridlines at all using the None option.

      Note: the Axis Settings and Gridlines sections will be disabled for Pie charts since charts of this type have no axes and gridlines.

    Chart Settings window

    Note: the Vertical/Horizontal Axis tabs will be disabled for Pie charts since charts of this type have no axes.

    The Vertical Axis tab allows you to change the parameters of the vertical axis also referred to as the values axis or y-axis which displays numeric values. Note that the vertical axis will be the category axis which displays text labels for the Bar charts, therefore in this case the Vertical Axis tab options will correspond to the ones described in the next section. For the XY (Scatter) charts, both axes are value axes.

    • The Axis Options section allows to set the following parameters:
      • Minimum Value - is used to specify a lowest value displayed at the vertical axis start. The Auto option is selected by default, in this case the minimum value is calculated automatically depending on the selected data range. You can select the Fixed option from the drop-down list and specify a different value in the entry field on the right.
      • Maximum Value - is used to specify a highest value displayed at the vertical axis end. The Auto option is selected by default, in this case the maximum value is calculated automatically depending on the selected data range. You can select the Fixed option from the drop-down list and specify a different value in the entry field on the right.
      • Axis Crosses - is used to specify a point on the vertical axis where the horizontal axis should cross it. The Auto option is selected by default, in this case the axes intersection point value is calculated automatically depending on the selected data range. You can select the Value option from the drop-down list and specify a different value in the entry field on the right, or set the axes intersection point at the Minimum/Maximum Value on the vertical axis.
      • Display Units - is used to determine a representation of the numeric values along the vertical axis. This option can be useful if you're working with great numbers and wish the values on the axis to be displayed in more compact and readable way (e.g. you can represent 50 000 as 50 by using the Thousands display units). Select desired units from the drop-down list: Hundreds, Thousands, 10 000, 100 000, Millions, 10 000 000, 100 000 000, Billions, Trillions, or choose the None option to return to the default units.
      • Values in reverse order - is used to display values in an opposite direction. When the box is unchecked, the lowest value is at the bottom and the highest value is at the top of the axis. When the box is checked, the values are ordered from top to bottom.
    • The Tick Options section allows to adjust the appearance of tick marks on the vertical scale. Major tick marks are the larger scale divisions which can have labels displaying numeric values. Minor tick marks are the scale subdivisions which are placed between the major tick marks and have no labels. Tick marks also define where gridlines can be displayed, if the corresponding option is set at the Layout tab. The Major/Minor Type drop-down lists contain the following placement options:
      • None to not display major/minor tick marks,
      • Cross to display major/minor tick marks on both sides of the axis,
      • In to display major/minor tick marks inside the axis,
      • Out to display major/minor tick marks outside the axis.
    • The Label Options section allows to adjust the appearance of major tick mark labels which display values. To specify a Label Position in regard to the vertical axis, select the necessary option from the drop-down list:
      • None to not display tick mark labels,
      • Low to display tick mark labels to the left of the plot area,
      • High to display tick mark labels to the right of the plot area,
      • Next to axis to display tick mark labels next to the axis.

    Chart Settings window

    The Horizontal Axis tab allows you to change the parameters of the horizontal axis also referred to as the categories axis or x-axis which displays text labels. Note that the horizontal axis will be the value axis which displays numeric values for the Bar charts, therefore in this case the Horizontal Axis tab options will correspond to the ones described in the previous section. For the XY (Scatter) charts, both axes are value axes.

    • The Axis Options section allows to set the following parameters:
      • Axis Crosses - is used to specify a point on the horizontal axis where the vertical axis should cross it. The Auto option is selected by default, in this case the axes intersection point value is calculated automatically depending on the selected data range. You can select the Value option from the drop-down list and specify a different value in the entry field on the right, or set the axes intersection point at the Minimum/Maximum Value (that corresponds to the first and last category) on the horizontal axis.
      • Axis Position - is used to specify where the axis text labels should be placed: On Tick Marks or Between Tick Marks.
      • Values in reverse order - is used to display categories in an opposite direction. When the box is unchecked, categories are displayed from left to right. When the box is checked, the categories are ordered from right to left.
    • The Tick Options section allows to adjust the appearance of tick marks on the horizontal scale. Major tick marks are the larger divisions which can have labels displaying category values. Minor tick marks are the smaller divisions which are placed between the major tick marks and have no labels. Tick marks also define where gridlines can be displayed, if the corresponding option is set at the Layout tab. You can adjust the following tick mark parameters:
      • Major/Minor Type - is used to specify the following placement options: None to not display major/minor tick marks, Cross to display major/minor tick marks on both sides of the axis, In to display major/minor tick marks inside the axis, Out to display major/minor tick marks outside the axis.
      • Interval between Marks - is used to specify how many categories should be displayed between two adjacent tick marks.
    • The Label Options section allows to adjust the appearance of labels which display categories.
      • Label Position - is used to specify where the labels should be placed in regard to the horizontal axis. Select the necessary option from the drop-down list: None to not display category labels, Low to display category labels at the bottom of the plot area, High to display category labels at the top of the plot area, Next to axis to display category labels next to the axis.
      • Axis Label Distance - is used to specify how closely the labels should be placed to the axis. You can specify the necessary value in the entry field. The more the value you set, the more the distance between the axis and labels is.
      • Interval between Labels - is used to specify how often the labels should be displayed. The Auto option is selected by default, in this case labels are displayed for every category. You can select the Manual option from the drop-down list and specify the necessary value in the entry field on the right. For example, enter 2 to display labels for every other category etc.
  6. once the chart is added you can also change its size and position.

    You can specify the chart position on the slide dragging it vertically or horizontally.


Edit chart elements

To edit the chart Title, select the default text with the mouse and type in your own one instead.

To change the font formatting within text elements, such as the chart title, axes titles, legend entries, data labels etc., select the necessary text element by left-clicking it. Then use icons on the top toolbar to change the font type, style, size, or color.

To delete a chart element, select it by left-clicking and press the Delete key on the keyboard.

You can also rotate 3D charts using the mouse. Left-click within the plot area and hold the mouse button until a blue dashed box appears. Drag the cursor without releasing the mouse button to change the 3D chart orientation.

3D chart


Adjust chart settings

Chart tab

The chart size, type and style as well as data used to create the chart can be altered using the right sidebar. To activate it click the chart and choose the Chart Settings Chart Settings icon icon on the right.

The Size section allows you to change the chart width and/or height. If the Constant Proportions Constant Proportions icon button is clicked (in this case it looks like this Constant Proportions icon activated), the width and height will be changed together preserving the original chart aspect ratio.

The Change Chart Type section allows you to change the selected chart type and/or style using the corresponding drop-down menu.

To select the necessary chart Style, use the second drop-down menu in the Change Chart Type section.

The Edit Data button allows you to open the Chart Editor window and start editing data as described above.

Note: to quickly open the 'Chart Editor' window you can also double-click the chart on the slide.

When the chart is selected, the Shape Settings Shape Settings icon icon is also available on the right, since a shape is used as a background for the chart. You can click this icon to open the Shape Settings tab at the right sidebar and adjust the shape Fill and Stroke. Note that you cannot change the shape type.


To delete the inserted chart, left-click it and press the Delete key on the keyboard.

To learn how to align a chart on the slide or arrange several objects, refer to the Align and arrange objects on a slide section.

Return to previous page
Try now for free Try and make your decision No need to install anything
to see all the features in action