Articles with the tag:
Close
Changelog
Close
Articles with the tag:
Close

Advanced Settings of the Document Editor

The Document Editor allows you to change its advanced settings. To access them, open the File tab on the top toolbar and select the Advanced Settings... option. You can also click the View settings View settings icon icon on the right side of the editor header and select the Advanced settings option.

The advanced settings are:

  • Commenting Display is used to turn on/off the live commenting option:
    • Turn on display of the comments - if you disable this feature, the commented passages will be highlighted only if you click the Comments Comments icon icon on the left sidebar.
    • Turn on display of the resolved comments - this feature is disabled by default so that the resolved comments were hidden in the document text. You can view such comments only if you click the Comments Comments icon icon on the left sidebar. Enable this option if you want to display resolved comments in the document text.
  • Spell Checking is used to turn on/off the spell checking option.
  • Proofing - used to automatically replace word or symbol typed in the Replace: box or chosen from the list by a new word or symbol displayed in the By: box.
  • Alternate Input is used to turn on/off hieroglyphs.
  • Alignment Guides is used to turn on/off alignment guides that appear when you move objects and allow you to position them on the page precisely.
  • Compatibility is used to make the files compatible with older MS Word versions when saved as DOCX.
  • Autosave is used in the online version to turn on/off automatic saving of changes you make while editing.
  • Autorecover - is used in the desktop version to turn on/off the option that allows automatically recovering documents in case the program closes unexpectedly.
  • Co-editing Mode is used to select the display of the changes made during the co-editing:
    • By default the Fast mode is selected, the users who take part in the document co-editing will see the changes in real time once they are made by other users.
    • If you prefer not to see other user changes (so that they do not disturb you, or for some other reason), select the Strict mode and all the changes will be shown only after you click the Save Save icon icon notifying you that there are changes from other users.
  • Real-time Collaboration Changes is used to specify what changes you want to be highlighted during co-editing:
    • Selecting the View None option, changes made during the current session will not be highlighted.
    • Selecting the View All option, all the changes made during the current session will be highlighted.
    • Selecting the View Last option, only the changes made since you last time clicked the Save Save icon icon will be highlighted. This option is only available when the Strict co-editing mode is selected.
  • Default Zoom Value is used to set the default zoom value selecting it in the list of available options from 50% to 200%. You can also choose the Fit to Page or Fit to Width option.
  • Font Hinting is used to select the type a font is displayed in the Document Editor:
    • Choose As Windows if you like the way fonts are usually displayed on Windows, i.e. using Windows font hinting.
    • Choose As OS X if you like the way fonts are usually displayed on a Mac, i.e. without any font hinting at all.
    • Choose Native if you want your text to be displayed with the hinting embedded into font files.
  • Default cache mode - used to select the cache mode for the font characters. It’s not recommended to switch it without any reason. It can be helpful in some cases only, for example, when an issue in the Google Chrome browser with the enabled hardware acceleration occurs.

    The Document Editor has two cache modes:

    1. In the first cache mode, each letter is cached as a separate picture.
    2. In the second cache mode, a picture of a certain size is selected where letters are placed dynamically and a mechanism of allocating/removing memory in this picture is also implemented. If there is not enough memory, a second picture is created, etc.

    The Default cache mode setting applies two above mentioned cache modes separately for different browsers:

    • When the Default cache mode setting is enabled, Internet Explorer (v. 9, 10, 11) uses the second cache mode, other browsers use the first cache mode.
    • When the Default cache mode setting is disabled, Internet Explorer (v. 9, 10, 11) uses the first cache mode, other browsers use the second cache mode.
  • Unit of Measurement is used to specify what units are used on the rulers and in properties windows for measuring elements parameters such as width, height, spacing, margins etc. You can select the Centimeter, Point, or Inch option.
  • Cut, copy and paste - used to show the Paste Options button when content is pasted. Check the box to enable this feature.
  • Macros Settings - used to set macros display with a notification.
    • Choose Disable all to disable all macros within the document;
    • Show notification to receive notifications about macros within the document;
    • Enable all to automatically run all macros within the document.

To save the changes you made, click the Apply button.

Return to previous page
Try now for free Try and make your decision No need to install anything
to see all the features in action