Articles with the tag:
Close
Changelog
Close
Articles with the tag:
Close

Collaborative Document Editing

Document Editor offers you the possibility to work at a document collaboratively with other users. This feature includes:

  • simultaneous multi-user access to the edited document
  • visual indication of passages that are being edited by other users
  • synchronization of changes with one button click
  • chat to share ideas concerning particular document parts
  • comments containing the description of a task or problem that should be solved

Co-editing

Document Editor allows to select one of the two available co-editing modes. Fast is used by default and shows the changes made by other users in realtime. Strict is selected to hide other user changes until you click the Save Save icon icon to save your own changes and accept the changes made by others. The mode can be selected in the Advanced Settings.

When a document is being edited by several users simultaneously in the Strict mode, the edited text passages are marked with dashed lines of different colors. By hovering the mouse cursor over one of the edited passages, the name of the user who is editing it at the moment is displayed. The Fast mode will show the actions and the names of the co-editors once they are editing the text.

The number of users who are working at the current document is specified in the left lower corner at the status bar - Number of users icon. If you want to see who exactly are editing the file now, you can open the Chat panel with the full list of the users.

When no users are viewing or editing the file, the icon in the status bar will look like Manage document access rights icon allowing you to manage the users who have access to the file right from the document: invite new users giving them either full or read-only access, or denying some users access rights to the file. Click this icon to manage the access to the file; this can be done both when there are no other users who view or co-edit the document at the moment and when there are other users and the icon looks like Number of users icon.

As soon as one of the users saves his/her changes by clicking the Save icon icon, the others will see a note within the status bar stating that they have updates. To save the changes you made, so that other users can view them, and get the updates saved by your co-editors, click the Save icon icon in the left upper corner of the top toolbar. The updates will be highlighted for you to check what exactly has been changed.

You can specify what changes you want to be highlighted during co-editing if you click the File icon icon at the left sidebar, select the Advanced Settings... option and choose between none, all and last realtime collaboration changes. Selecting View all changes, all the changes made during the current session will be highlighted. Selecting View last changes, only the changes made since you last time clicked the Save icon icon will be highlighted. Selecting View None changes, changes made during the current session will not be highlighted.

Chat*

You can use this tool to coordinate the co-editing process on-the-fly, for example, to arrange with your collaborators about who is doing what, which paragraph you are going to edit now etc.

The chat messages are stored during one session only. To discuss the document content it is better to use comments which are stored until you decide to delete them.

To access the chat and leave a message for other users,

  1. click the Chat icon icon at the left sidebar,
  2. enter your text into the corresponding field below,
  3. press the Send button.

All the messages left by users will be displayed on the panel on the left. If there are new messages you haven't read yet, the chat icon will look like this - Chat icon.

To close the panel with chat messages, click the Chat icon icon once again.

Comments*

To leave a comment,

  1. select a text passage where you think there is an error or problem,
  2. use the Comments icon icon at the left sidebar to open the Comments panel and click the Add Comment to Document link, or
    right-click the selected text passage and select the Add Сomment option from the menu,
  3. enter the needed text,
  4. click the Add Comment/Add button.

The comment will be seen on the panel on the left. Any other user can answer to the added comment asking questions or reporting on the work he/she has done. For this purpose, click the Add Reply link situated under the comment.

The text passage you commented will be highlighted in the document. To view the comment, just click within the passage. If you need to disable this feature, click the File icon icon, select the Advanced Settings... option and uncheck the Turn on live commenting option box. In this case the commented passages will be highlighted only if you click the Comments icon icon.

You can manage the comments you added in the following way:

  • edit them by clicking the Edit icon icon,
  • delete them by clicking the Delete icon icon,
  • close the discussion by clicking the Resolve icon icon if the task or problem you stated in your comment was solved, after that the discussion you opened with your comment gets the resolved status. To open it again, click the Open again icon icon.

New comments added by other users will become visible only after you click the Save icon icon in the left upper corner of the top toolbar.

To close the panel with comments, click the Comments icon icon once again.

*available for paid versions only

Return to previous page
Try now for free Try and make your decision No need to install anything
to see all the features in action