Articles with the tag:
Close
Changelog
Close
Try in the cloud

Managing versions and revisions

While using your personal cloud, you might have already noticed that there is a number next to the file title that shows the number of file versions. Want to learn more about file versions and revisions? Read this tip!

Conventional signs

When you edit and save a document for the first time, the file gets the version number ver.1. If you click the version number, you'll see the list of the file versions and revisions:

Version history

Flags of different colors have the following meanings:

  • Revision Revision - minor changes in a file. Every time you change and save the file, a new revision is created. Revisions can also be converted to versions. To do this, click on it. The icon will change from white to orange and will automatically be numbered. The same action can be performed in reverse order.
  • Version Version - major changes that include all the file revisions for a certain period of time. Every editing session is considered as a new file version, i.e. a new file version is automatically created and displayed in the version history when the editing session ends. An editing session ends when a user closes the file (or all users who are editing the file simultaneously close the file) and the delay time passes (the delay time is about 10 seconds). Each new intermediate revision replaces the previous one in the version history.
  • Final version Final version - the latest version of the document.
Manage versions

The version history window also provides various functions for convenient working on documents:

  • Basic info - view all information about a particular version: date and time, Name of the user who made the changes, and file size.
  • Download - downloaded any version and revisions. To do this, click the Download button next to the corresponding version.
  • Add comments - leave a comment for each version and revision, for example, with a brief summary of the applied changes. To add a comment, click the underlined text below the basic information and add a description in the textbox. A short comment to the document is compiled automaticlly depending on the actions performed (e.g. Created, Edited, Restored from the revision of, The file is unlocked etc).
  • Preview - preview any version and revisions. To do this, click the Preview version icon icon. A new tab of document editor in the preview mode.
  • Restore - restore any version and revisions. Clicking the Restore button will create a new completely identical revision. This option might come in handy when too many changes have already been applied to the document to edit them manually.

You can also manage versions directly from the editors. To find more information, see the History version section of the Document and Spreadsheet editors manuals.

Browse and restore previous document versions in ONLYOFFICE Docs
Close