Working with Collaboration rooms

Collaboration rooms are intended to facilitate co-authoring multiple documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and PDF forms with your team members.

You can use all the advantages of co-editing to effectively work on your documents.

Invite workspace users to rooms, providing different access levels and controlling each step of collaboration.

Key features
  • Real-time and paragraph-locking co-editing
  • Commenting and tracking changes
  • Communication via chat or video calls within online editors
  • Managing version history
Possible use cases
  • Working on educational projects, e-learning courses, research projects
  • Preparing blog articles for publishing, sending them for review
  • Working on business contracts, reports, sale agreements

For example, you need to prepare a set of documents for a literature workshop with your students. Let's find out how this can be done with Collaboration rooms.

Step 1. Create a Collaboration room

Create a new Collaboration room in a few easy steps:

  1. Go to the Rooms app and click the New room button or the Plus icon Plus icon.
  2. Select the Collaboration room type.
  3. Enter the room Name.
  4. Optionally, you can add tags in the Tags field or change the room icon.
  5. Optionally, set the Storage quota for the room, or check the Disable quota for this room box to turn the storage limit off.
  6. Click Create.
Collaboration rooms Collaboration rooms

Step 2. Add documents to the room

A newly created room displays the Welcome to the Collaboration room screen with quick actions. The same operations are available via the New button:

  • Create a new file – create a Document, Spreadsheet, Presentation, PDF Form, or Folder online.
  • Invite people – add members to work together in the room.
  • Upload from storage – add existing files from the Files or Rooms app.
  • Upload from device – upload existing files from your device.
Collaboration rooms Collaboration rooms

All available options for working with documents in rooms are listed here.

Step 3. Add your team members to the room

Now you need to add guests or users registered in your workspace to the room for co-editing documents.

The following permission levels are available in the Collaboration room:

  • Room manager (Paid) – manage the assigned rooms, invite new users, and assign roles below their level.
  • Content creator – create and edit files in the room, but cannot manage users or access settings.
  • Editor – operations with existing files: viewing, editing, form filling, reviewing, commenting.
  • Viewer – file viewing.

To add a Room manager, you should select a Room admin or a Full admin from the existing workspace contacts.

To invite guests and users:

  1. Go to the room Info -> Contacts screen and use the Invite contacts icon Invite contacts icon.
  2. Turn on the Invite via link switcher to create a universal link for self-authorization in the room as a guest. If necessary, change the permission level. The link is copied to the clipboard and its expiration date is displayed below it. In this way, you can invite guests only.
  3. Alternatively, use the Add manually section below to add existing workspace contacts or invite new guests personally via email. Type in an email and press Enter, or use the Choose from list option to select an existing contact. If necessary, change the permission level and the Invitation language. You can add several emails and then click Send invitation.

By default, guests and users will be added to the room as Viewers, who can only view documents. You can select Content creator or Editor instead of the default Viewer option. New guests will be added to your Guests list.

Collaboration rooms Collaboration rooms

All available options for inviting users to rooms are listed here.

Step 4. Co-edit documents in the room

For seamless co-editing, switch between the Strict and Fast co-editing modes, add comments, manage the suggested changes, track the version history, and much more.

Learn more about collaboration tools in documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and PDF files.

It's also possible to view Version history and manage document versions through the file list.

You can track all changes on the room Info -> History screen. Use the Go to date option to jump to a certain date, and the Export history option to save the history to a file.

Collaboration rooms Collaboration rooms
Article with the tag:
Browse all tags