Articles with the tag:
Close
Changelog
Close
Help Center
Documents

Context menus in the Documents module

A context menu is a menu that appears upon a right mouse click and offers a limited set of choices, i.e. actions related to the selected item within the 'Documents' module. Read this tip to find out what operations you can perform using context menus.

Context Menu of a Folder

If you want to open a context menu, right-click the needed folder or left-click the Actions icon icon next to it within one of the sections in Documents. Folder context menu includes the following options:

  • Open - use it to open the selected folder and view its content.
  • Access - this menu entry contains the following sub-entries:
    • Sharing Settings - use it to set access permissions for the whole folder content.
    • Link for Portal Users - use it to copy the link to the selected folder to the clipboard so that you can share the link with other portal users. Users you send the link to must have corresponding permissions to be able to view/edit the folder content.
  • Download - use it to save the folder with its content onto your hard disk drive as a .zip archive.
  • Move or Copy - this menu entry contains the following sub-entries:
    • Move to - use it to move the folder to another section (e.g. to the 'Common Documents' section or to one of the folders of the 'My Documents' section).
    • Copy - use it to make a copy of the folder in another folder of the 'Documents' module.
  • Rename - use it to change the folder name.
  • Delete - use it to move the folder to the 'Recycle Bin' section.
You will find this context menu within the 'My Documents' and 'Common Documents' (if you are an administrator) sections.

In the 'Common documents' section (if you are an administrator or the folder owner), the Access -> Change owner option is also available that allows to transfer ownership of a folder to another user.

In the 'Shared with me' section, there is one more option apart from the ones listed above - Remove from List that lets you exclude the selected folder from the ones shared with you.

In the 'Recycle Bin' section, one more option will be available - the Restore option - which you can select to recover the deleted folder.

If you integrated some other resource (Box.com, Dropbox, OneDrive or Google) with the 'Documents' module, the context menu of this resource folder will include two more options - Change the third party info and Delete third party that let you alter the folder name as well as connection settings and remove the resource from ONLYOFFICE, respectively.

Context Menu of a Document, Spreadsheet, Presentation

If you want to open a context menu, right-click the needed file or left-click the Actions icon icon next to it within one of the sections in Documents. File context menu includes the following options:

  • Edit - use it to open the selected file for editing it.
  • Preview - use it to open the selected file for viewing it.
  • Access - this menu entry contains the following sub-entries:
    • Sharing Settings - use it to set access permissions for the selected file.
    • Link for Portal Users - use it to copy the link to the selected document to the clipboard so that you can share the link with other portal users. Users you send the link to must have corresponding permissions to be able to view/edit the file.
    • Block - use it to prevent the selected file from editing, renaming, moving to another folder, deletion by other users with the corresponding rights.
      To release a lock use the Unblock icon icon or the Unblock option in the context menu.
  • Version history - this menu entry contains the following sub-entries:
    • Show version history - use it to open the list of existing versions and revisions.
    • Finalize version - use it to group all the existing revisions in one version.
  • Download - use it to save the file onto your hard disk drive in its original format.
  • Download as - use it to save the file onto your hard disk drive in a selected format.
  • Move or Copy - this menu entry contains the following sub-entries:
    • Move to - use it to move the file to another section (e.g. to the 'Common Documents' section or to one of the folders of the 'My Documents' section).
    • Copy - use it to make a copy of the file in any folder.
    • Create a copy - use it to make a copy of the file in the folder of an original file.
    When moving or copying files to a different folder, if a file with the same name already exists in the destination folder, you will be asked to select if you want to overwrite the existing file adding a new version to it, or keep both the files in the destination folder, or skip moving/copying the file.
  • Rename - use it to change the file name.
  • Delete - use it to move the file to the 'Recycle Bin' section.
You will find this context menu within the 'My Documents' and 'Common Documents' (if you are an administrator) section.

If you integrated the DocuSign service with the 'Documents' module, the context menu of a file will include one more option - Send with DocuSign that allows to send the file for electronic signature to your portal users.

In the 'Common documents' section (if you are an administrator or the file owner), the Access -> Change owner option is also available that allows to transfer ownership of a file to another user.

In the 'Shared with me' section, there is one more option apart from the ones listed above - it is the Remove from List option that is used to exclude the selected file from the ones shared with you.

In the 'Recycle Bin' section, one more option will be available - the Restore option - which you can select to recover the deleted file.

Try now for free Try and make your decision No need to install anything
to see all the features in action
You Might Also Like This:
Close